top of page

Quilled Celtic Knot.

I like the idea of painting using paper. This is what I have attempted to do with this on-edge quilling project.

I began by printing out a celtic knot pattern for the size I needed. There are lots of examples of celtic knots online or you could draw your own. I then transfered this onto a piece of white card by going over the lines with an embossing tool. This created an embossed image on the card. I then added the black outline by using 5mm wide black paper strips.














paper pattern.





With the black edging added.


I then had fun filling in the shape using lots and lots of small pieces of coloured paper strips - ranging from around 3cm to 1cm. You could use one shade at a time to create a solid colour but I wanted the colours to flow into each other so I used a variety of shades for each colour and let them blend into each other.


The purple was mainly one shade to give it a more solid appearance. A gold coil was added to the middle.

When I had finished I decided to carefully cut away the white card although this would have been easier to do first before I bagan the piece. The shape isn't perfect but I was pleased with this first attempt with a celtic pattern. I now have to decide how to mount this. It does look quite dramatic against black card.


I hope this project has inspired you to have a go at something new.


Comentarios

Obtuvo 0 de 5 estrellas.
Aún no hay calificaciones

Agrega una calificación
bottom of page